I got my neck and back brace today. Immediately, I could feel a difference in my cognitive function.

I woke up earlier than normal, giving myself enough time to eat a little bit and get as functional as I could before having to leave for the appointment – about an hour and a half. I think I started with cognitive function at something like 75% this morning, and by the end of my appointment with the orthotist, I was down to probably 60%, slurring words, picking the wrong words, and just not totally processing bits of our conversation. Having it on, though, for just the couple hours I’ve worn it today, I definitely think more clearly and have significantly less head and neck pain than I did without it. I’m sure it’ll need adjusted a bit as I get used to it and figure out just how to situate everything and go about my activities. I had to take it off to eat earlier. Chewing and neck braces just don’t mix. Luckily, I don’t need to (and shouldn’t, really, for fear of muscle atrophy) wear this all the time. It’s just for bad days, but I am immensely grateful to finally have it. Hopefully, it’ll keep me from having any more spine or skull shifts that create the neuro shitstorm I talked about previously.

I’ll share more as I get more familiar with it. For now, I just wanted to share a positive with you to show that I’m not still stuck in the despair I posted about most recently.

